The 53rd Annual General Meeting of the CHPTA (formerly CHHMA) took place virtually on Tuesday, November 1st via Zoom.

Despite posting a deficit of $23,005 during 2021, the Association continues to remain in a strong financial position with net assets over $590,000 which does not include the value of the building which the CHPTA owns debt free.

The CHPTA had to manage through a full-year of the COVID-19 pandemic during 2021 which continued to have a negative impact on revenue.  The only in-person event that took place last year was a successful Ontario Golf Tournament held with the Canadian Office Products Association (COPA).  Despite the pandemic challenges, the Association focused on helping members as much as possible through online peer group meetings, educational webinars, new program services and customer lobbying.

Expanding upon the rebranding to the CHPTA, plans are being developed to help grow the membership over the coming years.  The Association looks forward to conducting more in-person events during 2023.

Five current Board of Director were re-elected for another two-year term:

Stacey Brown, Director of Sales – Henkel Canada Corporation
Denise Deacon, President – Face2Face Sales Inc.
Krista Hamilton, President – McDonald Sales Inc.
Shuaib Mian, Group Marketing Manager – Floorcare – Techtronic Industries Canada Inc.
Mark Travers, General Manager – King Marketing Ltd.

Elected for a first term was new Board Director Gina Conte, General Manager – AGT Products Inc.

Stepping down as a Board of Director was Dave Evans from Melnor Inc.  We would like to thank Dave for his many years of service on the Board and support of the Association including his two-year stint as Chairman from 2015 to 2017.  We continue to look forward to seeing Dave around at industry and CHPTA events.

The complete Board of Directors for 2022-2023 is as follows:

Joe Comitale, Chairman, M-D Canada
Denise Deacon, 1st Vice Chairman, Face2Face Sales Inc.
Gerry Lubanszky, 2nd Vice Chairman, Goto Market Sales Solutions Ltd.
Steve Barker, Treasurer, IPEX HomeRite Products
Peter Laing, Past Chairman, Recochem Inc.
Stacey Brown, Director, Henkel Canada Corporation
Gina Conte, Director, AGT Products Inc.
Jeff Crews, Director, Richelieu Hardware Ltd.
Krista Hamilton, Director, McDonald Sales Inc.
Patricia Ieraci, Director, Anchor Hocking
Adam Malolepszy, Director, Signify Canada Ltd.
Shuaib Mian, Director, Techtronic Industries Canada Inc.
Scott Ride, Director, The Hillman Group Canada
Mark Travers, Director, King Marketing Ltd.
Daniel Zrubak, Director, DeLonghi Canada Inc.

A change in the membership dues structure was approved for 2023.  For manufacturers and sales agencies, the membership dues levels will be revised from 16 levels to 6 levels.  A flat fee for affiliate members remains.

Looking ahead to 2024, the CHPTA is looking to introduce annual membership packages for manufacturers and sales agencies that would be based on value offerings versus dues based on company sales. Again, a flat fee for affiliate members would remain.